04 Octobre 2024

Orchestra della Svizzera italiana

Markus Poschner conductor
Wu Wei sheng

Hanna-Elisabeth Müller soprano

Unsuk Chin (*1961)

Šu, concerto per Sheng e orchestra


Gustav Mahler (1860–1911)

Sinfonia n. 4 in sol maggiore per soprano e orchestra



The sheng is a free-reed wind instrument of Chinese origin that dates back 3,000 years, recalling a cross between an organ, synthesiser and accordion and certain to fascinate the most curious listeners. Chinese virtuoso Wu Wei has dedicated his life to this instrument, which features a sound box paired with a number of bamboo canes (usually 13), building an incredible global career. The concert opens with Šu by South Korean composer Unsuk Chin: a piece she says she wrote while recalling hearing the sound of the shengas a child, far off among the mountain valleys. And what better place for it than before Mahler’s fourth symphony, a hymn to nature that culminates in the celestial atmosphere of an allegorical lied that offers a childlike view of the wonders of paradise. All performed by the Orchestra della Svizzera italiana, conducted by Markus Poschner, with the voice of acclaimed soprano Hanna-Elisabeth Müller.


Hanna-Elisabeth Müller

Markus Poschner

Orchestra della Svizzera italiana

Wu Wei


Abonnez-vous à notre lettre d'information pour recevoir toutes les nouvelles à l'avance.

Abonnez-vous à notre Newsletter

Settimane Musicali di Ascona

c/o Organizzazione turistica
Lago Maggiore e Valli


Casella postale / P.O. Box
CH 6600 Locarno


de la Suisse 091 759 76 65
de l'étranger +41 91 759 76 65



Suivez-nous aussi sur



© Fondazione Settimane Musicali Ascona - Credits - Cookie Policy - Privacy Policy