Church San Francesco Locarno

19:00, Aula Magna Locarno
Introduction to the concert with Giuseppe Clericetti
40 - 140 CHF

Peace Orchestra Project


Ricardo Castro conductor
Marc-André Hamelin piano
Francesco Piemontesi piano
Alexandra Achillea Pouta mezzo-soprano

Leonard Bernstein (1918 - 1990)

Candide Ouverture

Francis Poulenc (1899 – 1963)

Concerto in D Minor for Two Pianos and Orchestra

Nicola Campogrande (1969)

Symphony No. 2 “Un Mondo Nuovo” (2022)

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)

Firebird Suite (1919 version)

The tragic events of the war in Ukraine are reflected in the programme for the 78th Settimane Musicali di Ascona, which kicks off on 5 September with an extraordinary Concert for Peace featuring Marc-André Hamelin, Francesco Piemontesi and the Peace Orchestra Project, a symphony orchestra conducted by Ricardo Castro featuring young musicians from all over the world. The evening will include the Swiss première of Nicola Capogrande's Symphony No. 2 “Un Mondo Nuovo”, dedicated to Europe at war and composed as an “attempt to offer a musical response to the anguish that has afflicted our continent over the past few months”.

Cornèr Bank

Read More

Marc-André Hamelin

Neojiba Orchestra

Peace Orchestra Project

Ricardo Castro

Francesco Piemontesi

Francesco Piemontesi

Alexandra Achillea Pouta

Alexandra Achillea Pouta

Settimane Musicali di Ascona

c/o Organizzazione turistica Lago Maggiore e Valli

Casella postale / P.O. Box
CH 6600 Locarno – Switzerland


dalla Svizzera 0848 091 091
dall’estero +41 848 091 091




© Organizzazione turistica Lago Maggiore e Valli