18 September 2023

Orchestra della Svizzera italiana

Fabien Gabel conductor
Håkan Hardenberger trumpet
Bertrand Chamayou piano

Florent Schmitt (1870 – 1958)

Suite for trumpet and orchestra op. 113

Dimitri Shostakovich (1906 – 1975)

Concerto nr. 1 op. 35 for piano, trumpet and orchestra


André Jolivet (1905 – 1974)

Concertino for trumpet, string orchestra and piano

Francis Poulenc (1899 - 1963)


It’s rare to hear “the best trumpet player in the galaxy” (as per the New York Times) live for almost an entire program. A challenge eagerly accepted by Swede Håkan Hardenberger, at ease in a countless repertoire ranging from Baroque to the present day, and who, together with French pianist Bertrand Chamayou captures two valuable snapshots of the Italian Novecento movement in a programme interwoven among neoclassical gaps and modernist frenzy. The concert also marks the anticipated and very welcome return of “our” Orchestra della Svizzera italiana to Ascona.


Bertrand Chamayou

Fabien Gabel

HÃ¥kan Hardenberger

Orchestra della Svizzera italiana

Orchestra della Svizzera italiana

Select language





Settimane Musicali di Ascona

c/o Organizzazione turistica Lago Maggiore e Valli

Casella postale / P.O. Box
CH 6600 Locarno – Switzerland


dalla Svizzera 0848 091 091
dall’estero +41 848 091 091



© Fondazione Settimane Musicali Ascona - Credits - Cookie Policy - Privacy Policy