Church Collegio Papio Ascona

25 – 85 CHF

Incontri - musica da camera


Augustin Hadelich violin
Sonia Wieder-Atherton cello
Francesco Piemontesi piano

Week-end cameristico

"Hommage à la musique française"


Nicolas de Grigny (1672–1703)

Récit du Chant (transcription for violin and piano by F. Piemontesi)

Jean-Philippe Rameau (1683–1764)
La Boucon (transcription for violin and piano by F. Piemontesi)

Claude Debussy (1862–1918)
Sonata for violin and piano in G minor

Augustin Hadelich, Francesco Piemontesi


Henri Dutilleux (1916–2013)

Trois Strophes sur le nom de Sacher

Sonia Wieder-Atherton


Maurice Ravel (1875–1937)

Trio in A minor

Augustin Hadelich, Sonia Wieder-Atherton, Francesco Piemontesi

The enchanting spell cast by French musique de chambre is unequalled, especially if the performers know how to recreate the gentleness of the melodies, the delightful intertwining of the harmonic transitions, and the elusiveness of the timbres in a dialogue that brings different moments in history together to vibrate in unison. We feel it keenly in this final evening dedicated to chamber music, which opens with a couple of enriching transcriptions by Piemontesi pertaining to the late Baroque period of Grigny and the elegant eighteenth century of Rameau, presented as debut performances. Aside from a fleeting digression into Dutilleux’s post-impressionism, it is the symbolism of the fin des siècles that dominates the programme with its subtle chiaroscuri and ethereal flashes of light that transpire from Debussy’s Sonata and Ravel’s Trio in A minor.  

Read More

Sonia Wieder-Atherton

Augustin Hadelich

Francesco Piemontesi

Francesco Piemontesi

Settimane Musicali di Ascona

c/o Organizzazione turistica Lago Maggiore e Valli

Casella postale / P.O. Box
CH 6600 Locarno – Switzerland


dalla Svizzera 0848 091 091
dall’estero +41 848 091 091




© Organizzazione turistica Lago Maggiore e Valli