07 October 2023

Anna Agafia Egholm

Anna Agafia Egholm violin

Johann Sebastian Bach (1685 – 1750)

Partita no. 2 BWV 1004

Eugène Ysaÿe (1858 – 1931)

Sonata no. 5 op. 27

Igor Stravinsky (1882 – 1971)


Carl Nielsen (1861 – 1931)

Prelude, theme, and variations op. 48

Fritz Kreisler (1875 – 1962)

Recitativo und Scherzo-Caprice op. 6


For the series debut, here is a new face in the global violin scene. 26-year-old Dane Anna Agafia Egholm, recent winner of the Tibor Varga competition in 2019 after making her debut as a child prodigy at only 12 years of age. Shouldering her precious Gagliano violin from 1763, Anna has chosen a recital that summarizes some significant attitudes: the solid contrapuntal root of the Bach composition with Partita n.2 (the one with the celebrated Chaconne), the popular starting point of Sonata n.5 from Ysaÿe, which includes a folkloric Danse rustique, the dreamy and lyrical world of Elegia by Stravinskij and, to top things off, the sparkling dazzle of Kreisler’s virtuosic Scherzo-Caprice.


Anna Agafia Egholm

Select language





Settimane Musicali di Ascona

c/o Organizzazione turistica Lago Maggiore e Valli

Casella postale / P.O. Box
CH 6600 Locarno – Switzerland


dalla Svizzera 0848 091 091
dall’estero +41 848 091 091



© Fondazione Settimane Musicali Ascona - Credits